Why so serious?

Art by Tracey Rediker photograph RedLincArt

Not everything I do has to mean something. This is a reminder to myself, not an argument I am starting with you.

I do this thing where every action must have an important reason behind it. This can be as simple as cooking dinner or as grand as taking a business class, there is the same level of urgency given to each act. It can be quite stressful.

The reason I bring this up is because I am planning on starting a drawing class with a friend this week. I enjoy life drawing and have quite the collection of sketch pads filled with nudes. My Step-father’s apartment still has a beautiful one I did years ago hanging in the living room.

I know that I am pretty good at life drawing and have tried to sell my art in the past. I just don’t have what it takes to make that kind of business work, but that does not mean that I can’t just enjoy the process. Well, to some people that would mean that. I am going to walk out of that class trying to find a way to make money off of what are surely masterpieces.

This is what has kept me away from taking an art class for years. I can’t just enjoy it. Maybe I need to come up with a plan beforehand. I will take the class, I will take pics of some of my best work, I will use it for my business social media. There, I made it useful.

Now, how to cook my family dinner without making that a thing.

PS: all the art used on this site is my original work. See I did it again.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

