Stand Up

Original Graphite by Tracey Rediker RedLincArt

About a week ago something happened to my children on the schoolbus that I had no intention of discussing here. Mostly because I want this blog to be about me and my feelings, plus I didn’t want their business out there in the world without their permission. However, this is too important for it not to be shared.

Let me start by saying I live in a diverse community, both racially and economically. It has filled me with great pleasure that they have friends whose families come from all over the globe. They love tasting the world when they visit their friend’s homes.

This is why I was so shocked by what I am about to tell you. My children, who are on the bus together, heard another student yell out, “death to jews”. My daughter, who is no shrinking violet, immediately reported him to the bus driver and to the principal at school the next day.

At the time, I made a lot of excuses to myself. There were other things the kids were yelling and this one just took it too far. He didn’t really mean it. I even said that to the kids. But, in reality, my daughter was right to report him. He needed to be told that what he did was wrong.

I have heard a lot of people talking about how PC culture has gone too far. What does that even mean? We should be able to say terrible things to people? I get expressing your views, making an argument for your side, but where is the line? No one would argue that this child crossed it, or maybe they would and this is something he heard in his home.

I have to say, I am proud of my children. In the face of anti-semitism they stood up and said that is not ok. They will stand up and speak out in the face of hate, I just wish they didn’t have to.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

